New Mike Dillon Album Features Elliott Smith, Neil Young & Martin Denny Covers

On April 29, Mike Dillon will release his latest studio album, Functioning Broke via Royal Potato Family. Dillon recorded music more personal and committed to a sustained mood than past efforts on Functioning Broke which finds Mike alone on vibraphone, mallet instruments and various percussion, building each track into its own minimalist, but multi-dimensional auditory landscape.

The 12-track effort includes Mike Dillon re-imagining six Elliott Smith compositions, including “Behind The Bars,” “Christian Brothers” and “Independence Day,” Neil Young’s “The Needle & The Damage Done,” Martin Denny’s “The Enchanted Sea” as well as four originals.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s